Was I bad? Did I die in my sleep and wake up in hell?

11 Jan

It was already 31 freakin’ degrees at 6am today, yet I still went for a run, why I ask you, why? Because it was in my diary and I didn’t want to wait for the cool change this afternoon and then back up again first thing tomorrow.

If I am honest it wasn’t that bad, it would have been pretty awful once the sun was fully up but when it was just peeking over the horizon there wasn’t too much bite. Too many bloody flies though, not so bad when running but on the walk to my office from the car park I must have looked like a mad women, especially when I accidentally slapped myself in the face.

I had a massage last night which ended up taking 90 minutes so it was definitely going to be an easy one today, though I was surprised to find more pace than I thought I would. Granted there were a few stops at the drinking fountains, normally I only stop once when waiting for the traffic lights to change, I think there were 3 drink stops today, mostly because the dust on the Tan made my throat so dry. I did see one lady today running in leggings, a t-shirt and a jacket tied around her waist :shock: perhaps she started her run at 530am when it was only 29 degrees and she needed to ward off the chill, perhaps she was a reptile.

It was a pretty consistent effort finishing with some strides over the last 400 metres or so.

Distance – 8km
Time – 41:43
Avg Pace – 5:13
Avg HR – 82%

I am still chasing my trophy from the fun run I got the age group placing in last December, why do they offer age group place getters a trophy or medal then extracting it from them is harder than getting [insert clever and amusing comparison here, I can’t be stuffed]? If it is too much trouble for them they should just stick to offering the silverware to overall placegetters and be done with it.

By the way Kathryn and John hit the nail on the head yesterday; my Hottest 100 choices are all Australian with the exception of Bloc Party.

Gawd, are you all still awake? I’ve got nothing today, TFIF is all I have to say, is it knock off time yet? I have a serious case of the January work blahs, I need a week off work, first order of business when the boss gets back next week “hi, hope you had a great break, can I have a week off?”

6 Responses to “Was I bad? Did I die in my sleep and wake up in hell?”

  1. JH January 11, 2008 at 11:47 am #

    Em, Em, Em… I’m shaking my head. You don’t have to run just because your diary said to. That’s exactly how I ran myself into the ground last year.

    Still, I suppose you know best.

  2. Eat Em January 11, 2008 at 1:45 pm #

    I ran The Tan and then reps of Anderson St this morning Em – sorry we missed each other ….

    Hope you get the holiday

  3. Kathryn January 11, 2008 at 3:16 pm #

    That sucks about the trophy. Chasing stuff up is always a hassle.

  4. beakus January 11, 2008 at 3:34 pm #

    I am so glad I am not the only one… I did consider painting fake eyes on my eyelids and going to sleep but I would probably dribble or snore and give myself away :) come on weekend! I am loving Bloc Party, especially The Prayer, though my favorite of theirs has got to be I Still Remember, it’s just a stunner of a song. I like Silent Alarm, but I think A Weekend in the City is possibly even better. There is something in Kele’s voice… superb.

    Okay, I’ll stop typing now :)

    B.

    PS. Billy Bragg is in Melbourne at the end of Jan… two gigs though I think the first is sold out.

  5. Andrew (ajh) January 11, 2008 at 8:49 pm #

    Work blahs doesn’t do how I’m feeling right now justice, nowhere near strong enough.

  6. Lee January 12, 2008 at 1:27 pm #

    I am so in holiday mode at the moment even though I am running myself ragged keeping the kids entertained!! I actually think I will welcome back some “routine” once the kids go back to school :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

